© Aga Khan Trust for Culture / Cemal Emden (photographer)
Aga Khan Award for Architecture, August 2019

The 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Master Jury has announced its selection of the Palestinian Museum as winner of the prestigious annual prize. The Museum shares this honour and prize of one million dollars with five other projects that were also on the Award shortlist, which included 20 entries from 16 different countries. Accepting the award were Chair of the Board of the Palestinian Museum, Zina Jardaneh, landscape architect Lara Zureikat, and Róisín Heneghan of the architecture firm Heneghan Peng, in a ceremony in Kazan, Russia.

The Aga Khan Award is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards in the field of architecture. Read more on TPM website, and AKDN website

RIBA Honorary Fellow 2019, Nov 2018       

Zina Jardaneh, Chair of the Board of the Palestinian Museum, has been awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the Royal Institute of British Architects RIBA.  RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who are not architects but have contributed to architecture. This includes individuals who have advanced the role of architecture in creating more sustainable communities, those involved in its promotion and management and those who nurture the interests of future generations.



MENA Green Building Award, May 2018       

The Museum was awarded the 2018 MENA Green Building Awards in the category of Green Public Building. This award is organised by the Emirates Green Building Council and is endorsed by the World Green Building Council in partnership with the Green Building Councils in the MENA region.

Image of Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City
“In Our Time: A Year of Architecture in a Day”, December 2017        

The Palestinian Museum was selected for Projects of the Year “In Our Time: A Year of Architecture in a Day” at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. “In Our Time: A Year of Architecture in a Day” was a symposium devoted to the most exciting and critical spatial projects of 2017. The event brought together international architects, artists, curators, theorists, and filmmakers, who were selected to present one new project -whether a building, a book, an artwork, or an exhibition- considered to be among the most engaging and relevant in 2017.

World Architectural Festival Culture Award, November 2017       

The Museum was awarded the World Architecture Festival Award in the category of Culture. This 10th edition of this festival was held in Berlin, Germany, where the Museum competed against 14 cultural buildings from around the world. Read more.
 LEED® Golden Certificate, November 2017       

The Museum was awarded the Leadership in Energy and Environment Design (LEED) golden certificate, becoming the first Museum in the Middle East to achieve this status. This certification was endowed to the Museum on account of its having reached 49% efficiency rate in the supply and use of water, save energy by 16% and reuse and recycling of 96% of the waste generated during construction. Read more.

RIAI Architecture Awards, July 2017

President of the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland Carole Pollard bestowed the Palestinian Museum the “Presidential Award” as part of 2017 RIAI Architecture Awards.  The Royal Institute was founded in 1839 with the aim of promoting the value that architecture brings to society. The museum was one of 21 winners who made it out of the 60 architectural projects that were shortlisted.   

Best Logo Award, November 2014

The Museum was awarded Best Logo at the International Design and Communication Awards (IDCA) 2014, which was held in Sydney, Australia. The Museum of Everything, from the United Kingdom, and Musée de la Civilisation de Quebec, from Canada, took second and third places in the same category which was populated with international contenders.


The Museum was awarded Best Corporate Identity (The best of typography/ logotypes/ brand marks) in a competition organised by the International Society of Typographic Designers (ISTD) based in the United Kingdom.